A short introduction

The Alps-Adriatic Alliance was founded on November 22nd 2013 in Klagenfurt am Wörthersee on the initiative of Carinthia´s governor Dr. Peter Kaiser. It represents a completely new, dynamic, flexible and low-threshold network-structure for project-oriented cooperation in the Alps-Adriatic area.

The founding members are
– the Austrian regions: Carinthia, Styria, Burgenland,
– the Croatian counties: Istria, Karlovac, Krapina-Zagorje, Koprivnica Križevci
Međimurje and Varaždin,
– Slovenia, represented by Skupnost Občin Slovenije (SOS) – the Association of Cities and
Towns of Slovenia,
– and the Hungarian county Vas.

Cooperation within in the framework of the Alps-Adriatic Alliance is open to public authorities,
private organizations and NGOs. The new network aims to close the gap between existing
transnational cooperation areas such as the Alpine-, Danube- and Adriatic-Ionian program-
areas. Core objective of the Alps-Adriatic-Alliance is the comprehensive and efficient use
of transnational EU-programs for the benefit of its members. Of course, the Alps-Adriatic-
Alliance also allows the continuation of proven people-to-people projects.

The concrete project-oriented cooperation is carried out by so-called Thematic Coordination
Points (TCPs), which currently deal with the topics agriculture & ethnic heritage, culture, economy, energy & environment, equal opportunities, Europe, healthcare, inclusion, mobility, sports and tourism.

All members have established Alps-Adriatic-Contact Points to be of service for interested
stakeholders. The Contact Point of Carinthia also serves as the General Secretariat of the Alps-

The allocation of grants from the joint budget of the Alps-Adriatic-Alliance is the main task of the Steering Committee which consists of the heads of the TCPs, the heads of the Contact Points and the General Secretariat.

The Alps-Adriatic-Council consists of delegates from the political level. It meets biannually and is responsible for fundamental decisions and orientation.